Get paid for your work.
The concept of employment should be simple. You work, then you get paid for the work that you've done. End of discussion.
Unfortunately, many employers will try to find many ways to pay you less than what you've earned.
Fortunately, you have the law and excellent an employment lawyer on your side.
If you think that you're owed money by your employer, reach out to us now.
What are my wage and hour rights?
California law grants you many rights as a non-exempt employee. You have the right to a minimum wage, you have a right to overtime pay, and you have a right to take breaks. If you are an exempt employee these rights may still apply, there is a possibility that you may have been misclassified.
If you are a non-exempt employee and work for a company with 25 or less employees, then you should be paid at minimum $14 per hour. If you are a non-exempt employee and work for a company with 26 or more employees, then you should be paid $15 per hour. Depending on the county and industry that you work in, the minimum wage could be as high as over $18 per hour.
If you are an exempt employee and work for a company with 25 or less employees, then you should be paid at minimum $58,240 per year. If you are an exempt employee and work for a company with 26 or more employees, then you should be paid at minimum $62,400 per year.
If you are a non exempt employee, then you have a right to overtime when you:
perform any work over 8 hours in a single day
perform any work over 40 hours in a single work week
perform any work on your 7th day of work in a single work week
Exempt employee misclassification
There are strict requirements to being classified as an exempt employee in California, but they vary based on industry and profession. Reach out to us with the details of your job so we can make a determination. You may be entitled to overtime pay.
Rest breaks & meal periods
You have the right to take one 10-minute rest break for every 4 hours that you are scheduled to work. You also have the right to take no less than one 30-minute meal break if you are scheduled to work more than 5 hours. You have the right to take two 30-minute meal breaks if you are scheduled to work more than 10 hours.
Connect with us.
Reach out to us for a free case evaluation.
We're always ready to answer any questions
that you may have about your case.
My wage and hour rights were violated.
What can I do about it?
If your employer violated your wage and hour rights and you're owed money, then give us a call.
We are an employment law firm based in Santa Ana, CA. Our employee attorneys are here to support the workers of Santa Ana that have had their wage and hour rights violated.